Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Introduction

This page describes viewing a history of project events, tagging events, and restoring a project. Project history is stored for a maximum of 90 days, and is cleared in exported projects.

Viewing Project History

The Project History option is accessible from the project toolbar (see Project Actions Menu in Project Toolbar).

On selecting Project History, the project history is shown within a panel on the right side of the project designer. This panel shows a list of project changes and deploys, with the date and time that a specific user performed the action, filtered by timeframe. Project history updates appear in real time, including when a project is being simultaneously edited by multiple project collaborators.

  • Last 30 Days, Last 60 Days, or Last 90 Days: Use the dropdown to select a timeframe for displaying project history events, either 30, 60, or 90 days:

    NOTE: Project history is stored for a maximum of 90 days.
  • All Events, Deploys, Migrations, or Tagged: Use the dropdown to select the types of events to display:

    • All Events: All project history events are displayed, including change, export, migrate, deploy, restore events. Project history tags on these events are shown when present. 
    • Deploys: Deploy events are displayed.
    • Migrations: Migrate events are displayed.
    • Tagged: Migrate, deploy, and restore events that have been tagged are displayed.
  • Date and Time: Project history events are grouped by day and 30-minute intervals within each day in reverse chronological order (both for each interval and the reported time range), using the local browser time. Click the date or time row to expand or collapse events that are grouped together. A count of each deploy, change, or migrate event is displayed below each 30-minute period:

  • Events: Each project history event is listed with a timestamp of the event and shows the first name and last name initial of the user who performed the action. When selected, an event is displayed with a green background in the project history panel. Each type of event is covered as follows:
    • Change: The name of the component at the time it was created, updated, or deleted:

      When selected, the design canvas focuses to the selected component (if applicable) and outlines it with a green border, the project pane's Workflows tab is displayed with a green background, and the component is selected in the project pane's Components tab.

    • Export: The name of the project at the time it was exported:

    • Migrate: The name of the environment the project was migrated to or from, along with the event's required project history tag. Migrate events are taggable and restorable.

    • Deploy: A deploy event, along with the event's project history tag, if present. Deploy events are taggable and restorable.

    • Restore: The name of the project at the time it was restored, along with the event's project history tag, if present. Restore events are taggable and restorable.

Tagging an Event

Migrate, deploy, and restore events are able to be tagged with a user-provided tag. Tags are recommended to be used for versioning.

Migrate events must be tagged from the project migration screen before the project can be migrated.

To add a tag from the project history panel, hover over any migrate, deploy, or restore event and click the tag icon  to show a dialog for entering tag information:

  • Tag Name: Enter a tag to be used to label the project history event. Entering a unique tag is recommended but not required.
  • Tag Description: Enter a description of the tag.
  • Save: Save the tag information and close the dialog.
  • Cancel: Close the dialog without saving.

Tagged events are displayed in the project history panel with the tag visible below the event:

You can click the tag to reopen the tag information dialog and make any edits as needed.

Hovering over the tag shows a tooltip with the MD5 digest of the stored project and the Tag Description, if present:

Restoring a Project

Project backups are automatically created when you migrate, deploy, or restore a project. Those project backups are available to restore to, as accessed through the project history.

After migrating, deploying, or restoring a project, hover over a migrate, deploy, or restore event and click the actions menu icon  to open the actions menu. From the menu, select Restore This Version:

A confirmation message asks you to confirm that you want to restore to the selected version:

Click Restore to revert the project designer back to the previously deployed version and overwrite the current project. Note that this action applies only to the project designer and does not affect the deployed version. Redeploy to deploy the restored state.

  • No labels